Light and Life Domains (Cleric)

January 17th, 2017

Joshua Zaback

Best in Class Archive

While in general, the existing cleric domains are comprehensive and the list of subdomains pretty much fits any concept you might want, there appear to be some odd gaps. For instance, there is a death domain, but no life domain, and a darkness domain, but no light domain. This article seeks to adjust the balance on those scales by providing the above as full domains for interested clerics.


Life Domain

                Clerics with the life domain worship deities of life and healing, and have powers relating to preserving life, returning life, and living life to the fullest. Any deity that offers the healing or good domains also offers the life domain. At the GM’s discretion, some other deities might offer the life domain.

Granted Powers: Clerics with the life domain can bolster the life force of others and create new life where there was none before.

Imbue with Vigor: At 1st level, you can touch a living creature to imbue her with vigor, allowing her to stay in the fight longer and battle with greater confidence. Three times per day, as a standard action, you can touch a living creature to grant it a number of temporary hit points equal to 1d6 + your cleric level. These temporary hit points last for 1 minute. So long as the target retains at least 1 temporary hit point gained in this way, she gains a +1 morale bonus on attack rolls and saving throws.

Create New Life: At 8th level, you can create life where there was none before. This requires you to perform a special 1-hour ritual. This ritual functions like the spell summon nature’s ally IV, except that the duration is permanent, until the summoned creature is slain. If one creature summoned with this ability lives, this ability cannot be used again; otherwise, this ability can be used once per day. At 10th level, and every 2 levels thereafter, the level of the summon nature’s ally spell this ability replicates increases by 1.

Domain Spells: 1st—summon minor allyUM, 2nd—cure moderate wounds, 3rd—good hope, 4th—animate objects, 5th—heroes’ feast, 6th—life force bubble, 7th—awaken, 8th—regenerate, 9th—wish.


Light Domain

                Clerics with the light domain worship gods of the sun and of the day; they hate and fear darkness. The light domain is available to any character worshiping a deity with the sun domain (in addition to the light subdomain).

Granted Powers: Clerics with the light domain can create light that damages characters of the opposite alignment, and that temporarily blinds their foes.

Light of the Gods: At 1st level, you can create a 30-foot-radius sphere of pale golden light, which acts as a light spell. Characters of an alignment 2 or more steps away from your deity’s alignment suffer 1d6 points of damage each round they are within the light. Activating or suppressing this ability is a free action. You can maintain this ability for a number of rounds each day equal to 10 + your cleric level. These rounds need not be consecutive.

Blinding Light: At 8th level, you can create such bright light that it blinds those that see it. Once per day, as a full-round action, you can create a burst of bright light in a 60-foot radius. All creatures within the radius who do not worship your deity must succeed on a Will save (DC 10 + 1/2 your level + your Wisdom modifier) or blinded for 1d4 rounds.

Domain Spells: 1st—pyrotechnics, 2nd—daylight, 3rd—searing light, 4th—light bolts, 5th— radiant glow, 6th—prismatic spray, 7th—sunbeam, 8th—sunburst, 9th—prismatic sphere.